Epiphany

(first of all, one of the few big words I use)

Over the last week or so, I have had this thought. And when I say it, you will all think I am silly because I didn’t realize this before. But if you understand my generation and the way this world is heading, you will get it.

So here it is:
Ready?

I do not have to be available to talk to all the time. I do not have to have a screen in front of my face all the time. SO….
I am going to unplug a little.
I realized this cause most of my stress right now comes from the internet.
When I get on Facebook, everyone’s problems become my problems. Not that I don’t like these people and don’t care, but 10 years ago, if they wanted me to know, they would have told me. And most of the time I can’t do anything about it anyway.
Then there is my store…holy cow…stress city…
I stress over too many sales and not enough time
I stress over too few sales and not enough money
I stress over how many people have looked at my store that day and where those hits are coming from.
And it is silly.
It even got so bad that I bought an iPhone so now I can take my stress with me! Everywhere!
And I do! I’ll be in a meeting, and have to check my email 85 times just to make sure…
cause you know, someone could ask me a question and I wouldn’t be right there to answer that second….
I’ve decided that if I lose a customer because it took me a couple hours to respond, then I didn’t really want that customer anyway.
Cause they were probably going to be a pain.

So for the next couple weeks, I will get online to schedule my items on tophatter. I may or may not worry about standby, we will see.
If I am around I will discuss my item when it is up for bid. If not, so what.
When I am at home. My cell will be shut off. The people who need to get a hold of me know my home number and if it is a total emergency, the PD knows where I live. They can come get me.
In the training I go to twice a month and in meetings, my cell will be on silent, no vibrate. The daycare and the school can get a hold of my parents if something happens cause I will be too far away to do anything right away.
When I am out with my kids, for the most part, I think the phone will stay at home. Unless we have a schedule to keep cause that thing is my clock and calendar and my memory sucks to much to try to do anything else.
I will be interested to see how much different life is when I just focus on the things in front of me that aren’t on a screen.
And just let the stresses that come from the technology in the world take a backseat for a while.

4 thoughts on “Epiphany

  1. I seriously need to live by this for a few days too! I am constantly in front of my computer or cell phone.. I could use a little time away and stress relief! ❤ Thanks for sharing!

    • this first day was good. I got tons more accomplished than I usually do.
      And the vibe with the kids has been different too. I have been less annoyed, rushed, frustrated, etc.
      Which made them less stressed. So we are staying up late to watch a movie and everyone is totally calm. Which never happens in this house!

      • That is awesome!! ❤ I'm definitely going to limit the amount of computer time I have. I've been doing much better the past few days but I think I'm going to narrow it down to an hour in the morning to get it out of my system and then when Emma goes to bed. It's so hard to do this when a majority of your work is on the computer but honestly.. I feel like half the time I spend on the computer I waste!

      • Right. Haven’t a job online makes it so much harder. Especially when you want it to be successful, cause you feel like you HAVE to be there to WORK. When in all reality that might not be true. This week I plan on learning more about google and their search system to make sure my jewelry is coming up in the first two pages on their shopping page. And I need to go tag all my items in artfire too cause i haven’t done that yet. Sometimes you have to get the work out of the way right away and let what ever happens, happen after that.

Leave a Reply

