New Way Of Thinking

So… I am now jobless with the exception of my jewelry/bead businesses. Which is SUPER scary to me. Partly because we are in the middle of the process of buying a house.

And I’m no fool. I’ve looked at our budget and with student loan debts, credit card debt from the trip to my grandpa’s funeral and the stupid (yes, stupid) car loan, money is going to be really really tight. Like hard to breathe tight.

Not active looking for a job right now because we are trusting God that our bills will get paid, jewelry and beads will sell and food will be on our table. (and my husband really loves that I have let go of my desperate need to be the main provider for our family.) (Single mom for a long time)

So while I was sitting at home trying to figure out what to do with my time, I came  up with a plan. A probably crazy plan, but a plan none-the-less.

We are going to go a month without throwing away any food. Which *gasp* means leftovers need to be eaten. Fresh produce needs to be eaten regularly and we have to use what we have in the house, BECAUSE, I don’t want to spend more than $100 on food for the next 30 days.

That being said, we are pretty stocked on food right now. But everyone gets to the point where nothing in the cabinet looks good.

Tonight I had found a pasta recipe on Pinterest that took care of a couple things for me. We had a half eaten package of bacon, a wonky looking pepper (just dehydrating, not rotten) and spinach that will be bad in a couple days if it doesn’t get eaten.

My wonky peppers. Orange one has been eaten!

My wonky peppers. Orange one has been eaten!

 

 

The peppers and the leftover bacon cooking up.

The peppers and the leftover bacon cooking up.

photo 3

Our yummy pasta dinner with super cheap pasta from our bent and dent store.

I need to learn how to format my blog….

Anyway, everything cooked up into some awesome pasta that even that diva ate (which is a miracle). It made a ton of food, so my husband has leftovers to take to work and I have some to reheat for lunch tomorrow.

Also, because I have all this free time on my hands, I am going to try to blog everyday. Though that will probably work as well as me going to the gym everyday.

Tomorrow I will get into my plan on how to still make money and how I am going to work on streamlining my jewelry designs.

 

How do you save money on food? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

