New way of living.

I have been talking to the kids about other ways to save and make money. 

Recycling is one of them.

Not just the “put everything in the recycling bin” recycling, but more useful ways.

I save canning jars that I got for free to store homemade body scrubs, lotions and facial masks. I don’t have to buy that stuff ever again and the stuff I make is SO much better for me than the chemical filled stuff from the stores. And in the summer, I use those jars for homemade jam and applesauce.  Because the scrubs and stuff are made with entirely edible items, I don’t have to worry about anything gross accidentally contaminating my foods that store in those jars.  

I’ve started watering my non-food plants with dirty fish water. While technically we are going to save money doing that because I have to fill up the fish bowl again, we are going to save money on plant food.

I know you can do this with food plants too but my stomach turns at the thought of it. I really like my plants so I want to keep them alive and healthy. They also help clean the air in our house which helps with my asthma and allergies.

We also are keeping toilet paper rolls for our hamsters. The baby loves hiding in his. We also will have a fire place and on a tv show, I saw a guy use his dryer lint in a toilet paper tube as a fire starter. So we will consider that. I’m pretty adamant about not keeping trash for any reason, but it seems like it will be useful. Plus that fire place will save us a bundle on our heating bill. 

We use plastic grocery bags to clean up after our dog. I swear I will never ever buy bags to do that. I also use them for garbage bags because I hate paying for something that I just throw away.

We are going to quit using paper towels as well once we get into our house. I don’t do it now because we don’t always have quarters to do laundry or not enough laundry to justify a load and I won’t pay to wash one thing. But once we move we will have our own machine to do laundry in, so soiled towels can get washed right away without having to scavenge for quarters.

I also got them to purge their rooms the other day. The whole experience was quite incredible. We started with a common area (the coloring table) and had them sort and put things away and throw away things that they no longer wanted. We had a bag for garbage, a bag for selling and then they put what they wanted to keep back into the box. 

Then I had them grab one small box of stuff from their rooms and do the same thing. They were really excited to see how much more they could fit into the boxes when they got rid of stuff they didn’t want! They got rid of 5 grocery bags of garbage and broken toys and two huge bags of toys to put on a garage sale. I was SO proud of them. And they were proud of themselves as well. My daughter found a bunch of doll clothes that needed to be repaired and instead of throwing them out and wanting new ones, she asked me to sew them up so she could keep using them. That was also a huge step for her, especially since she knows how long it takes me to get around to repairing things. (I’ve had a shirt sitting out to fix for two months now but I swear I am getting out my needle and thread today to fix this stuff. And super glue for my son’s stuff)

What are some ways you reuse stuff? 

Right now though I have to keep putting the stuff that I am purging from my jewelry line and supplies shop onto eBay. (link should take you to my selling page if I did it right) Not making as much as I want, but I have made enough to pay a credit card bill and if I can do that every month that will free up money for other things. My goal is to sell enough to pay off that entire bill by June.

Leave a Reply

